CSL Awards - 2017-2018 Winners

CSL Award winners - student and CP standing in front of OPIRG banner

Thomas Mccarthy-Alfaro, Faculty of Social Sciences. This year’s Community Service Learning (CSL) Award for Outstanding Contribution for students is given to Thomas Mccarthy-Alfaro, an International development and Globalization student who demonstrated exemplary dedication to raising the visibility of green spaces on campus as part of this placement with OPIRG. 






Professor Tracy Coates

Professor Tracy Coates, Institute of Canadian and Aboriginal Studies. Professor Tracy Coates is this year’s professor recipient for the CSL Award for Outstanding Contribution for her dedication to the Winter 2018 CDN2300 “Methodology of documentary Research in Canada” where she supported Shepherds of Good Hope’s need for integrating indigenous approaches to their program evaluations, and leveraged her students’ knowledge and research for community engagement. 









CSL Award recipients holding their award and smiling with Gary Slater

Shepherds of Good Hope is this year’s CSL Award for Outstanding Contribution as a community partner. Shepherds of Good Hope reached out to the University of Ottawa’s Institute of Canadian and Aboriginal Studies for student support to develop culturally appropriate ways to evaluate services and/or client satisfaction, taking into account Indigenous cultures and ways of knowing. 

Back to top